randomrabbit's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Sometimes It's hard to be a bloke

I try not to mix with the workshop rabble at work if I can, mainly because I consider myself superior. On occasion though, contact with the smelly menials is unavoidable, so I thicken up my accent, swear every third word and use as few long words as possible in order to communicate on their level and try to ensure the encounter is as brief as possible.

Like calling people clearly 20 years your senior, or policemen, son, in an attempt to belittle and get one up, there�s one of the lads who tries the same by calling me love. Not wanting to be outdone and let him have the upper hand, I started calling him flower. But now things have escalated and he�s calling me sweetheart, and I really can�t see anywhere I can go. I�ve got sugarplum and sweetpea and munchkin and my little knicker-sniffer, but those are the affectionate ones I use for the people I like and he�s definitely not deserving of one of those. So, the best I can come up with at the moment is ducky, but I think it sounds too gay, which would take it in a direction I really don�t want to be going in. Any suggestions would be appreciated.

8:49 p.m. - 2007-05-16

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

stepfordtart
catsoul
student-bum
annie-cam
vintagepearl
pimlico
bluemeany
hedgehoggy
mahagony
ava-reborn
the-moo
toiletwater
zebrasaur
joistmonkey
boredlaura
onlyemma
mulcie
dullthud
anibananie
thebeesknees
buffylass
katanabright
atavist
daddydays
sopeculiar
shot-of-tea
bobbiedylan
clairecav
laura-jane
gutterballs
jumblygiant
violetsmile
nexttoyou
marzipanmind
twodoorsdown
flufflebunny
princesscee
indpndnt-ter
polly-esther
sunstargirl
konbu
smashthegas
idiot-milk
twelvebeer
scotvalkyrie
bitterwineuk