randomrabbit's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Dead horse. Flogging thereof.

If only I�d known the water had been turned off at work then I wouldn�t have... well, anyway. You really don�t expect such things to still be around 5 hours later, it�s a bit disconcerting. I do hope no one knows it�s mine.

So anyway, slowly festering turds aside, work�s been a right sod of late. As of today though I�m having a bit of a strop and doing only what I�m paid to do instead of the ever increasing array of shite I seem to be getting stuck with that has nothing whatsoever to do with my job.

I asked for a chat about my salary a couple of weeks ago, and despite a couple of less than subtle reminders, nothing�s happened yet. This is how things are done here. There are no appraisals or anything, if you want a raise you�re made to feel like a fucking 8 year old asking for more pocket money as you skulk up to the MD. I doubt I�ll get as much as I want as they don�t seem to think as much of me as I do, weirdly, but until something�s sorted I�m going to be being a mardy bastard.

I managed to get my work experience portfolio thing approved, which to be honest has baffled the shit out of me. You�ve got 5 years after you qualify as an accountant to submit it for approval, and I left it until the day before the deadline, partly because it�s a bugger to fill in/make up (took me about a week), but also because I thought it would be pointless as it�d get rejected. Turns out they�re not that picky. Probably because now I�m an �associate� not just a passed finalist I have to pay them more money. Whatever though, I got me a huge certificate and letters after my name and everything.

It does mean I can be more choosy looking for jobs, should I ever get off my fat arse and do so properly that is, and means I don�t have to look just for places that will help me get the relevant experience. Technically I don�t even need to work as an accountant (though I assume I will - what else can I do? Nowt is the answer to that), which is a nice thought. Why the fuck I chose the career I don�t know, but it would have bothered me if I'd not gone that last little bit and become proper.

I did have an interview nearly 3 weeks ago and heard nothing. I assumed I�d bollocksed up, but I heard last night I�m being invited back (at some indeterminate point in the future) for a second (of three) interviews. I really don�t want it. They were all a bit... odd, and it was really hard to get to, but I�d probably take it if they offered it me, so therefore I need to make sure I don�t get it. I�m thinking kissing them all when I arrive and maybe taking my chap out if things are going especially well.

4:58 p.m. - 2009-11-27

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

stepfordtart
catsoul
student-bum
annie-cam
vintagepearl
pimlico
bluemeany
hedgehoggy
mahagony
ava-reborn
the-moo
toiletwater
zebrasaur
joistmonkey
boredlaura
onlyemma
mulcie
dullthud
anibananie
thebeesknees
buffylass
katanabright
atavist
daddydays
sopeculiar
shot-of-tea
bobbiedylan
clairecav
laura-jane
gutterballs
jumblygiant
violetsmile
nexttoyou
marzipanmind
twodoorsdown
flufflebunny
princesscee
indpndnt-ter
polly-esther
sunstargirl
konbu
smashthegas
idiot-milk
twelvebeer
scotvalkyrie
bitterwineuk