randomrabbit's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

So Long, and Thanks for All the Sausage

My office smells like cow shit. Why does it smell like cow shit? Because I smell like cow shit. Or at least the shoes I walk to work in did, which I had to stick under my desk, as putting them in the kitchen or the meeting room I�m sure wouldn�t have been appreciated. So now there�s a faint odour of turd. And why do they smell of cow shit? Because of my newfound ability to tread in every pile of crap in a field, be it cow or be it horse, and me assuming that the smell might magically wear off before I got to work.

Oh well. We did another stupid 14 mile walk thing on Saturday through a load of cow infested fields, which is what did it. I might be a fat bastard but I always figured I wasn�t that unfit. Yeah, like bollocks. I don�t think I�ve been so knackered, and I had a throbbing headache by the end to boot and I�d have happily gone to bed at 5 when we got back if I wasn�t trying to convince myself that I wasn�t so buggered. I nodded off for 3 hours instead and went at 8.

Me and Mark were stupidly contemplating doing the coast to coast next spring. We�d talked about it then sort of pencilled it in after Baz said he�d done it last year and recommended it, but after Saturday I asked Mark if he reckoned he could do another 5 miles on top of what we�d done, with a heavy rucksack and the same the day after and the day after that etc. �Good Question!� Too right it�s a good question. The answer to which being: Like fuck we could. Plus I got bitten to buggery and a rash in a rather delicate area caused by chafing and an inappropriate choice of underpant, so multiply that by 14 days and I�d need a donkey to carry the Vaseline. Also Mark seems to have forgotten he has a wife and baby. Do you sense which way I�m leaning re the walk?

I finally got somewhere booked in Whitby for the bank holiday weekend. I messed up a bit and then Chris fucked us about so we struggled to get somewhere. The place we got is about a mile away but looks okay. The only problem being the chappy on the phone said he didn�t have any twin rooms but that he could �jiggle� it so we could have one! Which is handy, but it�s my experience of jiggling that often stuff gets unjiggled and you end up spooning for 3 nights with Kev.

I went to Berlin the weekend before last for 3 days for the beer festival with Chris, Kev, Tom and Baz. I like Berlin very much and you do have to love a people who have so wholeheartedly embraced the sausage! And the accent is just so sexy. I�d maybe like to see Belrin when there isn�t a mile and a half of ale to distract me though. I perhaps should make the point that it wasn�t just 5 blokes getting drunk on many many different varieties of beer, but then I am rather proud that we managed the full one and a half miles over the 3 days so won�t bother! It was relaxed though and nice and lovely and sunny and you bought this gay little 1/3 of a pint glass you took from bar to bar and got filled up so you could try lots of the beers without getting too drunk. Are you convinced? No, I wouldn�t be either. We did try to be good at every bar and ask for funf bier bitte, then at every bar they�d say something in German, we�d look confused and resort to pointing. Good times. I reckon I could happily go a while without smelling the inside of a hot portaloo I think. And going to Luton for that matter. Luton�s fucking nasty.

Oh I�m tired and there�s only a Steven Seagal film on, which to me says bed. He really is just a big tub of lard you know.

10:23 p.m. - 2007-08-13

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

stepfordtart
catsoul
student-bum
annie-cam
vintagepearl
pimlico
bluemeany
hedgehoggy
mahagony
ava-reborn
the-moo
toiletwater
zebrasaur
joistmonkey
boredlaura
onlyemma
mulcie
dullthud
anibananie
thebeesknees
buffylass
katanabright
atavist
daddydays
sopeculiar
shot-of-tea
bobbiedylan
clairecav
laura-jane
gutterballs
jumblygiant
violetsmile
nexttoyou
marzipanmind
twodoorsdown
flufflebunny
princesscee
indpndnt-ter
polly-esther
sunstargirl
konbu
smashthegas
idiot-milk
twelvebeer
scotvalkyrie
bitterwineuk