randomrabbit's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Cyclone Shami Kebab

Yes it is a vegetable picture. Another one. Sod it though I don�t care, it took a year for these tiddly little bleeders to grow and I was rather chuffed with them for a first attempt! 3 out of about 30 that I planted grew and were actually one of the more successful things.

Given the (relative) success of the leeks and also the potatoes and everything else�s fondness for sodding off and dying or being eaten by slugs, I decided to grow neither this year. Always keen to stroke the thighs of experimentation I�ve gone with beans and peas, just because my dad reckons any idiot can grow them, onions, a few herbs, tomatoes, carrots, courgettes and, excitingly, aubergines, even though I don�t quite like them. I figure that if I�ve grown them myself I�ll be more inclined to look upon them in a more favourable light and not just see them as tasteless slimy turd-textured bastards. And if not they look kinda pretty I suppose.

When I planted it all I kind of assumed that courgettes would grow upwards on like a bush or something but selfishly they grow across the ground (Note to self: your dad is a gardener) so I�m going to have to dig stuff back up and jiggle it all about a bit as I didn�t really leave room for them to be doing that.

I got the rest of the garden looking marginally neater while I was in the mood, cutting the grass and chopping about 17 year�s growth off the hedge, which gave us a good 4 foot more lawn up one side. Or, to put it another way, loads more grass to cut up one side, which wouldn�t be so bad except the Flymo we have doesn�t so much hover as just sit there, so you actually have to lift the thing and wave it about over the grass. The electric shears Steve lent me for the hedge weren�t any better, missing an all important plug so I had to use the hand ones. Gardening�s shit. You plant stuff, it grows, you cut it down. It all seems a bit fruitless. Pretty gardens are fine and lovely as long as you�re not the one doing the work. Plant stuff, it grows, then you get to eat it � now that makes much more sense. It�s like having your own sweet shop in your back garden, only for carrots and stuff (!), and until I learn how to grow pork pies and Greggs sausage rolls that�ll have to do.

We bought some garden furniture and a barbecue on Sunday since there�s now somewhere we can sit out, so obviously the weather tits are imminently about to go up and it�ll piss down for the rest of time. This means my tan is about as good as it�s going to get � a whole 3 shades of pasty. Bright white most places, a little off white from my elbows to half way down my hands where my jacket came to on the walk and then from there to the end of my fingers I swear there�s a tiny bit of colour if the light�s right.

5:01 p.m. - 2008-05-14

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

stepfordtart
catsoul
student-bum
annie-cam
vintagepearl
pimlico
bluemeany
hedgehoggy
mahagony
ava-reborn
the-moo
toiletwater
zebrasaur
joistmonkey
boredlaura
onlyemma
mulcie
dullthud
anibananie
thebeesknees
buffylass
katanabright
atavist
daddydays
sopeculiar
shot-of-tea
bobbiedylan
clairecav
laura-jane
gutterballs
jumblygiant
violetsmile
nexttoyou
marzipanmind
twodoorsdown
flufflebunny
princesscee
indpndnt-ter
polly-esther
sunstargirl
konbu
smashthegas
idiot-milk
twelvebeer
scotvalkyrie
bitterwineuk